I haven’t been here in a while…

It’s been a while since I’ve been here. Work’s gotten a little crazy. Most of my days are twelve hours or more driving from house to house in the 100 degree heat so I’m a bit worn out by the time I get home. I haven’t had much time to get out and shoot for myself lately either which I know is shameful. I feel out of practice even though I shoot everyday for work. We slow down a bit in the dead of summer though, so maybe I’ll get a chance to correct that.

I feel like nothing has happened since April, but then again a lot has. We haven’t gotten to go camping or anything that exciting, but we’ve been making a lot of progress on our future plans. I’ve been writing a lot of fiction lately, and working hard on my art for Etsy and Redbubble. We also finally bought our tickets to Iceland (I repeat, WE BOUGHT OUR TICKETS TO ICELAND!!). In two months and three weeks we will be packing our bags and quitting our jobs and leaving for an undetermined amount of time. We already have the car rented for our stay in Iceland so we will have the freedom to move about, and see the sights we want to see on our own watch, and best of all, we will be able to camp. We also bought the tickets from Iceland to London ($90, that’s what’s up), so we know the next step of our adventure. Now we’re just counting down the days, and trying to get hostels and whatever else we need booked. Oh, and of course, saving as much money as possible (hard to do when you’re favorite food groups are chinese and beer).

This blog is slowly going to transform into a hopefully helpful travel and photography blog. I love taking pictures, if that’s not already obvious, so I’ll be sharing as many as I can as often as possible throughout our hopefully never-ending journey. I’ll also be sharing how I travel with my photo gear and what gear I use, and if an image is truly outstanding, I’ll be sharing the experience of how it was taken (I’m a professional at real estate photography, but still feel like a total newbie in a lot of other areas of photography). I’ll be writing about how we’re dealing with the money situation (this isn’t a vacation Cody, it’s a life style choice), and I’ll also start talking about travel in general. Everything from general travel tips to lesser known destinations, the history (one of my other passions) of the places we’re visiting,  and reviews on hostels, airlines and whatever else pops up along the way. I may even start making YouTube videos if I can get myself to sit down for more than a minute to learn video editing (any tips are welcome, please help!).

I’m hoping this blog will transform into a place where we can share experiences and advice, where we can help each other and encourage each other to get out and explore more. I want to hear your opinions and experiences, I want to know where you’ve been, and what you’ve seen. Where did you come from? Where are you going next? What’s been you’re favorite location, experience, destination so far?

I’m going to try to be more active here in the coming weeks, and as we draw closer to our departure date, I’ll try to share information about our booking experiences, the deals we’ve found and our reasons for choosing the places we’re visiting (Game of Thrones filming location is going to be a big one). I may even share a short story or two, but the good stuff won’t come until we hit the ground in Iceland, so bare with me until then.

For 82 more days we’re here in Texas. In a way it sounds like a life time. 82 days. In Texas. In summer. That’s forever. But I have to remind myself, we’ve already had the tickets in our possession for a month. That’s four weekends. We only have twelve more. And it’s summer. We have pool parties and barbecues and 4th of July right around the corner. We having tubing trips and camping in August and Tech games at the beginning of September. 82 days. That’s it. This has been my dream since I was 16 and it’s only 82 days away. I can wait that long, I think.

7 thoughts on “I haven’t been here in a while…

  1. You’re going to LOVE Iceland!! It’s magical…truly. It’s a completely different world. Take your time driving around. There are so many mountains, waterfalls, little roads, and endless things to see. I think you saw my blog posts, and I have more to come soon! Also, a few years ago my girlfriend and I quit our jobs and drove around the country for 5 weeks. Best decision I ever made….enjoy yours. The freedom and constant newness is intoxicating

    Like

  2. I’m ridiculously jealous! I felt super happy escaping to a different state for three days of exploring and writing, much less traveling to a different country for an unspecified amount of time. Happy adventuring!

    Like

Leave a Reply

